Skip to content

Am I the 99%

October 12, 2011

I’ve always thought of myself as one of a kind, but I am over there reading the tales of woe and I see some parallels. I am doing contract work right now which is far from a dream situation, and I have had my share of problems. Here is the difference though, I lived with my bad choices and pushed through. I also made reasonable choices, I didn’t take out $140,000 in student loans to get a degree in a filed that pays $20,000 / year, I didn’t go out and have 4 kids with no job and I don’t spend every last dime of my check every week. There are people who have legitimate complaints, but no system is 100% for everybody and if you have a rare medical condition that keeps you from working or something of that nature those need to be addressed individually, but that means you are not part of the 99%.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 11:36 am

    I quote from the Declaration of Independence:

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that ALL men are created equal, that they are endowed by THEIR CREATOR with certain unalienable rights, that among them are life, liberty and the PURSUIT of happiness”

    It does NOT say that everyone is ENTITLED to happiness….only to the PURSUIT. You may NOT be a lazy bum sitting on your ass complaining, but….SHIT HAPPENS, life is NOT fair, deal with it and move on.

  2. October 22, 2011 11:12 pm

    I didn’t go out and have 4 kids with no job and I don’t spend every last dime of my check every week.

    HEY!!! I resemble that remark.

    • October 23, 2011 8:08 am

      Well at least you are quiet about it. No drum circles :-P.

  3. October 28, 2011 5:48 pm

    Yeah, I know what you mean. Decisions, decisions. It all comes down to the road less traveled by, I guess. Robert Frost.

    My parents tossed me out because I was gay, when I was 17, and I managed to put myself through school shelving books in the library at the university I attended. Part of the benefits package at the university was that employees got free tuition. The pay was awful, I guess, but it was not such a bad deal. I was really there to learn, so I learned. I studied Latin and English.

    I learned to shelve books really fast so that the downtime between carts I could spend in the stacks–reading–8 floors of books. I can remember roaming campus every spring, around graduation, feeling kind of awful that it was taking me so much time to put myself through school. But I did it. With honors. And no debt.

    I took me a lot longer to get where I wanted to be. But now that I am a writer, I am grateful to my parents, in a way: for all of those hours I spent in the stacks, leafing though novels, poetry, plays, philosophy, art books, everything. I had millions of books at my fingertips every day, for all of those years. I remember everything I read–it is all still at my fingertips. Maybe that’s because I was young and my mind was more spongy. Or maybe the concrete hadn’t set yet. Maybe I was forced by circumstances to be more flexible–like one of those little furry creatures that avoided being crushed by the dying dinosaurs. It’s hard to say.

    Anyway, 20 years after commencement–which I didn’t attend–since I had to work–I can’t thank my younger self quite enough for sticking with it. The truth is, when I look into the mirror now, when I am shaving, I often see the ghost of that sad kid I once was. I sometimes wonder how he did it. But I never ask him, “Why?”

    All the best,
    Eric

Leave a Reply

