Skip to content

I am finding all these recent revelations about Christine O’Donnell a little disturbing

September 29, 2010

I haven’t posted much about Christine O’Donnell since her primary victory. There are a number of reasons for that – First, I don’t really know anything about her. Second, I don’t know anything about the Delaware Senate race. Third, I am wary of Tea Party candidates because, in my opinion, most of the ones I am familiar with are flakes, but as much as possible I am trying to obey Reagan’s maxim about criticizing the people on our side. So basically I have just kept my mouth shut. Now I am wishing I hadn’t. The latest in the ongoing series of Christine O’Donnell revelations – She allegedly lied about attending Oxford and Claremont University (this on top of having lied about her bachelor’s degree and about being in a Master’s degree program at Princeton). I don’t know about anyone else but I think this is rapidly becoming an embarrassment.

-elsewhere-

The Huffington Post (no link) is predicting that the Dems will retain control of both the House and Senate, because President Obama is now in “campaign mode”.

XBradTC wonders why he is getting hits from an old post

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 10:04 am

    Unfortunately, we’re seeing a side-effect of the “anybody but the incumbent” movement – you can get anybody, and outside of the professional politicians it’s the most vocal or motivated people who tend to run for office. Unfortunately, the most vocal and motivated people also have a high incidence of being fruitcakes on at least one issue, and quite often more.

    Sadly, at this point I still would vote for a total fruitcake over any of the current incumbents.

  2. September 29, 2010 11:28 am

    “With friends like these, who needs enemies”.

    I think of this statement every time I see another attack on a republican candidate by another republican. I would not care if the press discovered Christine was the actual spawn of satan. How she will vote on the issues that matter to me is what counts.

    Republicans and Conservatives don’t need the democrats to destroy each other, they do it very nicely on their own.

    • September 29, 2010 3:08 pm

      I think the lack of character that these revelations about O’Donnell is revealing says something about how she will behave in office.

      If you disagree that’s fine but don’t come crying to me when O’Donnell turns out to be an unprincipled opportunist.

      • September 29, 2010 5:49 pm

        Eventually they ALL become unprincipled opportunists. Term limits!

  3. xbradtc permalink
    September 29, 2010 11:31 am

    Can’t say I really care that much about the DE senate race. Were I to choose a primary candidate it probably wouldn’t have been O’Donnell. But I sure as heck would have chosen SOME candidate to go after Castle, if only to encourage him to shift right.

    That said, if we can’t pull the GOP and the Congress as a whole to the right, we’re doomed. That ;means we’re going to lose a few fights, even as we win a bunch.

    Come election day, we’re going to see some close races that we have wished our way into thinking we could win go to the Dems. On the other hand, as Ace notes, there are Dems out there in trouble who don’t even know it.

    I’ll note this, it seems interesting that every cycle, there are one or two races that for no apparent reason the press tries to make emblematic of the entire cycle. And they seem to really like attacking women candidates.

  4. Haverwilde permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:39 pm

    You bring a refreshing sense of restrained sanity to the “‘oh goody’ the conservatives are going to win,” commentary. The signs are so mixed right now. The conservative cause could win big, if we had a more solid set of candidates running. but…. I fear the pendulum swing that will accompany a disastrous bunch of newbies.

    • September 30, 2010 6:20 am

      Thank you.

      Of course I want strong conservative candidates to win, but in my mind that means not only people interested in restraining the size of government but people with some integrity and honesty and the ability to address problems realistically.

Leave a Reply

