Skip to content

Some initial thoughts on yesterday’s DADT decision

September 10, 2010

Apparently yesterday a federal district court judge found DADT to be unconstitutional. I say apparently because I haven’t heard it mentioned on the news this morning, I found it through a post by Gabriel Malor over at Ace of Spades.

My first thought – This is a horrible ruling! Not because I disagree with the outcome. Obviously I don’t. It’s horrible because of the way the outcome was reached. This is such an obvious attempt by the Justice Department to avoid the legislative process that no opponent to DADT repeal will ever accept it as legitimate.

Second thought – This may make things worse, at least for awhile. DADT at least offered some protections. With it stricken they are gone.

Third thought – Most of the people I have heard complaining about this seem to be a bit on the ignorant side. They are projecting there attitudes and beliefs from 20 to 40 years ago onto troops of today or they are dependents of deployed service members worried about their husband showering with some gay guy.

There are some critics (XBradTC who comments here for example) who have legitimate concerns about unit cohesion and morale. I accept that although those same concerns were raised about integrating blacks in the military, and about allowing women in. The horrible predictions didn’t come to pass. Currently the US is the only NATO force that does not allow homosexuals to serve openly. The effectiveness of NATO troops are open to question but that didn’t derive from allowing gays to serve.

I don’t know if I will post more on this or not, I was building to a pretty epic rant about some of the stupid comments I had seen at Ace’s and a couple other places but I am just not that sure I want to go there.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 12:44 pm

    I wouldn’t blame you if you did. Some of the shit that was said in that comments thread was un-fucking-believable. Between that and the O’Donnell purists calling everyone who thinks shes a flaky candidate a traitorous RINO “abused prison wife” (real quote there), I’m taking a break from Ace’s spot.

  2. xbradtc permalink
    September 10, 2010 1:01 pm

    Eh, I like Ace and the co-bloggers. The comments? Some are good, some are bad, some are just incredible.

    As to DADT, I’ll not rehash my position, but will join you in recognizing that the administration had the DoJ play possum on this. They want DADT to fall, but not take responsibility for it. By mounting no defense, they can try to blame the courts.

    There is an incredible lack of moral courage in the White House these days. I’d have a crapload more respect of the Admin had just made an executive order to suspend discharges and disciplinary action for homosexual conduct. At least that would be honest.

    • September 10, 2010 2:55 pm

      I should just learn to avoid the comments. They used t have some constructive input. No longer. I really wish Ace would clean house over there.

      Brad, you have a legitimate concern, as I said above, I just don’t think that the experiences in every other army in the world have borne out your concerns.

  3. September 10, 2010 5:44 pm

    I appreciate your comments, Jenn. My advice when it comes to certain comment threads at the HQ is to keep in mind that the most vocal individuals are not always (or even often) in the majority. It’s just that they’re more invested in certain issues, so they’re more apt to say outrageous things. Because of that, many readers avoid comments threads on certain issues.

    For example, long-time reader and good friend of the HQ alexthechick always avoids any gay threads or threads involving adoption. She just knows it’s gonna get hurtful so she skips it. That’s okay. I also skip some threads I know are going to drive me nuts.

    • September 11, 2010 8:34 am

      Thanks. That is what I do in general but sometimes either curiosity or masochism get the better of me and I wade on in. I’ll learn someday.

Leave a Reply

