Skip to content

I was hoping that the court in AZ would rule on SB 1070

July 22, 2010

but I guess that isn’t going to happen. I’m pretty sure the administration will get their injunction, but I think the cases that the ACLU has brought will be thrown out. They can’t prove harm because the law hasn’t gone into effect yet. Other than that I have nothing really. Went to dinner with Audrianna at a Thai place. I’m not really a fan of Thai food but it was her turn to choose.

Smitty has a piece up in which he attempts to make the case that McCain’s loss in 2008 was a good thing because it brought about the Tea Parties. I would argue that if McCain had won the Tea Parties probably wouldn’t be necessary, and that in any case I am not convinced they are a good thing. The Tea parties are in essence a populist movement and it was populism that gave us the 16th and 17th amendments as well as the dreaded Federal Reserve and birthed the Progressive party. The populist movement was also the mainstay of support for anti-trust laws and the maintenance of a fiat currency. In it’s current Tea Party incarnation the populist movement has given us Scott Brown, Sharron Angle, Rand Paul and Charlie Crist. Angle at this point looks almost sure to lose costing us a senate seat that looked like a sure thing 6 months ago; Crist is almost sure to win costing us another seat; Paul, I am not sure about but deep down inside I am almost sure he is going to lose, and Brown is just a Maine twin clone so what was the point. My point here is that populist movements don’t always give you what you want.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

