Skip to content

I have to admit this is something I am worried about

June 16, 2010

Have Republicans Already Blown Their Chance to Recapture The Senate? – I have already made my concerns known on this. Crist, as far as I know is still leading Rubio, today I read that the Dems are getting ready to back him instead of their own candidate, Angle in Nevada is imploding (article, article), although the latest poll I can find is a Rasmussen that shows her up by 11. There are other issues to but at the moment I am not feeling good about our chances.

This Real Clear Politics map shows that they are predicting, at best, a 50/50 split which leaves control of the Senate with the Dems.

On the plus side –

USA Today notes that Dems are still less enthusiastic about November than the GOP, and the Washington Post notes that progressives aren’t exactly in love with the administration, although they blame his problems on Republicans and a small number of corrupt Democrats, not on Obama’s incompetence.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 11:49 am

    It’s Talking Points Memo, so I’m inclined to take their analysis with a shaker of salt. That said, the Rand Paul thing is just beyond me. I really don’t see the appeal in he or his father’s neo-isolationist knobgoblinery. Still, most GOP candidates are not Rand Paul. The Vitter thing is just unfortunate, but while the gleeful predictions may have been off by a few seats here or there, that’s still within the margin of error and a net gain is still likely. As far as the Senate, that was going to remain in Dem hands in all but the most pie-in-the-sky forecasts.

    To me, the Paul movement is not helpful, but the Tea Party vetting process hasn’t been a bad thing. Letting the MSM continue to control the narrative to the point that we only run centrist candidates is a losing proposition, and given that America is a center-right country, we can afford to run conservatives in red states.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      June 16, 2010 1:17 pm

      Actually I can’t say I have been impressed with the candidates that the Tea party has pushed forward. We have Brown, who is starting to follow in the Snowe / Collins footsteps, Paul, Angle, who is looking troublesome and may just let Reid keep his seat, Rubio who is probably going to lose to Crist, Hoffman, who lost, and some others that are equally unimpressive. That isn’t to say that I am enamored by their GOP counterparts, but I don’t really think the Tea Party is giving us anything new. It’s just John Anderson and Ross Perot all over again.

      • xbradtc permalink
        June 16, 2010 2:34 pm

        I sincerely hope you are just a Debbie Downer. If you are right, that is problematic.

        On the other hand, I think the Tea Party influence is less in picking candidates, and more in pulling the GOP back to fiscally responsible positions.

        I hope.

        **pokes Jenn to gently remind her she owes me a list of music.**

  2. Liz permalink
    June 18, 2010 6:00 am

    But do the Republicans want to get it back? It might be more advantageous for them to not be associated with the clusterfark of the next few years. On a purely political level, I admire the chutzpah. On a human level, it makes me sick.

  3. Joe permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:36 pm

    From a political standpoint, I would say no, only because if the Republicans do not take back the Senate and the House and let the Democrats have it for 2 more years, then they will have more ammo for the 2012 election.

    They could say, “You see look what happens when Republicans are not in office, blah blah.” In the last presidential election, the Democrats blamed Bush and the Republicans and the Dems won. The Republicans will be able to do the same thing in 2012, by blaming the Democrats.

Leave a Reply

