Skip to content

Why are all the Supreme Court Justices from Harvard or Yale

May 13, 2010

The simple answer is elitism. Personally I think a justice should be nominated from the circuit they will represent/be in control of (I’m not sure of the terminology). That would bring a lot more diversity in points of view to the court.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. xbradtc permalink
    May 13, 2010 9:13 pm

    I’m unsure what you mean by “the circuit they will represent.”

    But I’m in agreement that disregarding the wealth of legal talent out there from schools other than H/Y is a curious lack of diversity.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      May 13, 2010 9:36 pm

      As I understand it every justice has a circuit that they are responsible for, so if the justice whose weat is being filled was responsible for the 9th circuit then in my opinion the replacement should come from the 9th circuit.

      • xbradtc permalink
        May 14, 2010 10:06 am

        That’s an internal administrative decision made by the court; a policy if you will, not a legal mandate. I’m unsure how often the Justices review and revise those assignments.

      • jenn1964 permalink*
        May 14, 2010 10:56 am

        I know. I am saying it should be changed in order to insure regional representation on the court.

Leave a Reply

