Skip to content

Oops, forgot the title again

April 20, 2010

Twice Right presents his case for JD Hayworth. It consists of

1. Fiscal Conservatism
2. Border Security
3. McCain-Feingold opposition

All good points and they would be worthwhile one for most candidates but here are my countervailing points

1. He is dishonest. He was intimately involved in the Jack Abramhoff scandal. There are also questions about using PAC funds to pay his wife but I am not sure on those.
2. He is a birther
3. He is as dumb as a box of rocks (which actually goes along with 2)
4. He was an earmarker.

-elsewhere-

Glenn Beck gets it wrong again. Last night on his show he claimed that Benjamin Franklin formed the first militia in the United States. The militia actually started in England where all freeman were required to prove that they had arms and were prepared to serve the King when summoned by the Sheriff. It carried over to the colonies
as protection on the frontiers and was activley used in military service during the French and Indian (7 years) war. It was at that time that Franklin organized the Pennsylvania Militia for service in that war. George Washington was serving in the Virginia Militia in 1752 and was a Lt. Col in 1754 at age 22. Whats maddening about this is he continues to present himself as a self educated expert on the founders and as sort of a latter day prophet for them and he gets basic details wrong.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:37 am

    The question boils down to which is a bigger tool: McCain or Hayworth.
    Irrespective of Hayworth negatives, the bigger-tool-than-McCain club is a small, esoteric group.

  2. April 20, 2010 10:11 am

    Hayworth is not a birther. I sent you an AZ Republic article to that effect before. Maybe you didn’t get it. I’ll dig it up and post it again. He simply acknowledged that the birther viewpoint exists. I’ve seen little evidence of point three, particularly in comparison with John McCain. As far as Abramhoff goes, the Republic, which leans pretty left and is very pro-amnesty, comes down more and more on his side of that story each time they report on it. Maybe you’re more in tune with both asshats, but I doubt it. I kind of live here and all.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      April 20, 2010 12:22 pm

      I didn’t get the article you sent previously so thanks for sending it again.

  3. April 20, 2010 10:33 am

    On the birther thing..

    http://www.redstate.com/erick/2010/02/18/jd-hayworth-and-the-birther-issue-a-non-story/

    http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/2742721/jd_hayworth_publicly_throws_the_obama.html

    http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-503544_162-6239856-503544.html

    and as far as Abramoff goes, John Hawkins makes the point I would make here. Not saying that being an “earmarker” is a good thing, simply that every member of Congress is an earmarker, whether it was with Abramoff or with some other interest group. Difference is, McCain’s had a long time to do it, and he’s done some real damage to Arizona and the national political scene in that time.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/JohnHawkins/2010/04/20/seven_reasons_government_has_become_completely_dysfunctional_in_america

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      April 20, 2010 12:20 pm

      I dont have time to read the articles now, but since I have personally heard Hayworth claim that Obama was not born in the US I am not going to change my position on that one. I may on the Abramhoff stuff after I read your article.

  4. April 20, 2010 9:31 pm

    Kay, but I’d read them anyways, because now I’ve heard, read, and read seconhand, that he is not in fact a birther. It’s kind of important. If he ever was, he clearly has changed that tune, and of all the things to worry about, to me, that is pretty far down the list. McCain is not trustworthy on any issue after the election is over. Shit, I don’t even think he’s disingenuous. At his age, he probably doesn’t remember what he says day to day. I’d vote for him if it came to that, given that any of the Democratic candidates would be disastrous for Arizona. Terry Goddard is a complete waste of space, Phil Gordon is a moron, and Jim Pederson makes La Raza look anti-amnesty. That being said, Hayworth is going to do the least harm to Arizona, and is going to be the most consistently conservative voice of any of the candidates with half a chance in hell of winning.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      April 21, 2010 9:14 am

      I will read them but my problem is that I think being a birther, like being a truther, shows such a fundamental lack of judgment that in my mind it is unrecoverable.

      McCain has done a lot of stuff I disagree with – specifically McCain Feingold, and I think the immigration reform could have been handled much better with a lot more emphasis on enforcement, but I think that his basic goal there of rectifying the illegal situation while recognizing the reality that simply deporting 4% of America’s population is impossible, was a worthwhile pursuit. Overall it comes down to McCain and I agree about 80% of the time and even when we don’t I don’t think he is acting out of an attempt for personal gain. I can’t say that for Hayworth, we may agree on specifics more often but I just find him distinctly unpalatable. It is the same case with Ron Paul.

      Fortunately I don’t live in AZ so I don’t actually have to make the choice.

Leave a Reply

