Skip to content

This is going to cost me about 3/4 of my traffic

April 6, 2010

but I am delinking The Other McCain. Yesterday he put up a post that ended –

Why is Arianna defending Charlie Crist? I don’t know, but she certainly has an extensive history of supporting closeted gay Republicans. IYKWIMAITYD.

In other words “don’t vote for Crist, he’s a fag”

I questioned him on it this morning and his response was that it’s just politics not homophobia and that Crist had gone dirty first. That may be but I am not following the FL Senate race, and I don’t link Crist, and I’m sorry this crosses the line from politics to intolerance.

Update –

Unreligious Right noted in the comments-

Just a thought… I have some left-wing atheist sites linked that I disagree with strongly on about 99% of topics not related to atheism. Putting someone on the blogroll doesn’t necessarily imply endorsement. If someone links me, I link them back just as a reciprocal thing, whether I like their site or not.

My response –

You’re right and I had just come to the same conclusion after I cooled down a bit. Err in haste repent in leisure. The thing is I know that McCain and Smitty aren’t really homophobic or intolerant or they wouldn’t have had some of the conversations with me that they have. I was just so mad that I wrote stuff I shouldn’t have.

I am going to add The Other McCain back to the blogroll but I reserve the right to make a pain in the ass out of myself over stuff like this.

I also want to add that in my opinion not only was this comment offensive but it’s bad politics. Florida has a large gay population, at least some of them are going to lean conservative how do you think they respond to things like this.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 6:37 pm

    Just a thought… I have some left-wing atheist sites linked that I disagree with strongly on about 99% of topics not related to atheism. Putting someone on the blogroll doesn’t necessarily imply endorsement. If someone links me, I link them back just as a reciprocal thing, whether I like their site or not.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      April 6, 2010 6:41 pm

      You’re right and I had just come to the same conclusion after I cooled down a bit. Err in haste repent in leisure. The thing is I know that McCain and Smitty aren’t really homophobic or intolerant or they wouldn’t have had some of the conversations with me that they have. I was just so mad that I wrote stuff I shouldn’t have.

  2. April 6, 2010 7:53 pm

    Oh, Jenn, relax and concentrate on keeping us honest.
    Not that I’m defending RSM in the slightest–he’s a big boy and can take care of himself.
    Also, I sort of wouldn’t have written that, though I may have had an equally irritating riff or five of my own.
    Cheers,
    Chris

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      April 6, 2010 8:53 pm

      I know I kind of flew of the handle. All I can say is it’s a very touchy subject and I reacted badly.

Trackbacks

  1. Derivatives on the way out? « A Conservative Shemale

Leave a Reply

