Skip to content

Busy this morning, but read about healthcare :-)

March 18, 2010

Democrats Cheer Budget Forecast on Health Care Bill

The House Democratic leader, Rep. Steny H. Hoyer of Maryland, said that the nonpartisan budget office had determined that the package of legislation, which would cost about $940 billion over ten years, would produce “the largest deficit reduction of any bill we have adopted in Congress since 1993,” when it passed tax increases sought by President Clinton.

In the first ten years, the health legislation would reduce deficits by $138 billion,and the effect on deficits over the following decade would be much greater — Democrats said $1.2 trillion — although such long term forecasts are more speculative. The savings would come largely from reductions in the growth of Medicare spending, with new fees and tax increases also contributing.

This obviously helps the Dems, but I have my doubt about the numbers. The CBO has to score a bill based on conditions set by congress. Since congress is as honest as a rigged carnival game those conditions are likely to be slightly skewed.

Brett Baier talks to the President about health care. – I think the president came off looking ill-informed.

I wish I knew where the idea that Obama is so smooth and such a great orator started because he is neither in my opinion.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 10:25 am

    Too bad that rectal pluck figure is all ‘unofficial’.
    Oh, and your boy isn’t going to Indonesia until June now.
    Let’s get this party started, yo’.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      March 18, 2010 2:16 pm

      Are you sure you posted on the right blog? I am in no way an Obama supporter so I am not sure how he became “my boy” and I said in my post that the CBO numbers were made up.

      • xbradtc permalink
        March 18, 2010 3:49 pm

        If you dis Smitty like that, he’s not gonna change his damn format.

  2. jenn1964 permalink*
    March 18, 2010 7:35 pm

    I’m not dissing him. I think he posted to the wrong place 🙂 . Just pointing that out.

Leave a Reply

