Skip to content

Here is another one where I get myself in trouble

March 4, 2010

*Note – Below I make it sound like the facts of this case are not in dispute. They are. I still think it was stupid to insist on a courts-martial to “clear their names” rather than Mast but that in and of itself doesn’t indicate guilt. I also don’t think the Navy would be prosecuting this if they don’t have some actual evidence beyond the accusation of Abed himself. It would be very easy for the convening authority to decide that there is insufficient evidence to proceed and they charges just go away. *

160,000 people have signed a petition calling for the Navy to drop charges against three Navy SEALs for punching a terrorist, failing to protect a prisoner and making false official statements. I disagree I think the court-martial should proceed.

As I remember the event the SEALs in question captured Ahmed Hashim Abed, who is accused of masterminding an ambush that left four Blackwater contractors dead, and their bodies desecrated in 2004, secured him, brought him back to base, turned him over to another team, and then Petty Officer 2nd Class Matthew V. McCabe took a parting shot and slugged Abed. I am not particularly upset about Abed getting injured, and if they had slugged him during the capture or to shut him up on the way back to the base or something of that nature I would agree that the charges should be dismissed. What bothers me about this is a) It’s abuse of a prisoner which is forbidden, b) They lied about it so they knew they had done something wrong and wouldn’t face up to it, c) they were offered Captain’s Mast and they insisted on a courts-martial. To me that indicates a lack of self control, a lack of integrity, and stupidity. In my opinion they deserve what they get (add -If the evidence proves them guilty), especially after all the negative publicity from Abu Gharib. The military doesn’t need more charges of detainee abuse.

(Canada Free Press)) (Fox News)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. xbradtc permalink
    March 4, 2010 10:43 pm

    If the facts are as the government alleges, I’m in agreement with you. You don’t have to like the rules, but you do have to follow ’em.

    But I’m very leery of believing the government’s story. Apparently the only corroboration to Abed’s story is a 3rd class MAA who has given 5 statements, each of which is at variance with the others.

    But you are right. You can’t decline Mast, then bitch that you’re getting court-martialed.

  2. jenn1964 permalink*
    March 5, 2010 1:54 am

    I got the impression, and don’t ask me to quote a source because I couldn’t it’s just an impression from when this was all over the radio and Fox News, that they had corroboration for another group of SEALs. The three who are mentioned but aren’t charged. The fact that there is a Captain involved really makes me think that there is something to this. My experience was Khaki’s walked on anything short of a DUI / murder. If a whitehat was 5 minutes UA it was mast if a Chief showed up half an hour late reeking of “mouthwash” they were just sent someplace to sleep it off. (Bitter? Oh a tad.) But then my experience is 20 years ago.

Trackbacks

  1. I was wrong « A Conservative Shemale

Leave a Reply

