Skip to content

The guys at The Other McCain have been good to me

February 12, 2010

but there have been two recent posts that I have found disturbing.

The first is one that was posted today “Evolution, Anthropogenic Global Warming and Other Non-Falsifiable Theories“. The only way I can describe the post is as anti-science. If McCain had limited himself to just discussing anthropogenic global warming I might agree with some of his points, but he also hits out at Evolution and really at the practice of science itself. I can’t go along with that.

The second post I found disturbing was Poll Question: Gays in the Military. First the question itself is insulting –

Q. How would you feel if you turned on the TV and saw a Navy admiral flouncing down Castro Street in full uniform in the San Francisco Gay Pride Parade, right next to Dykes On Bikes and the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence?

as is the conclusion that is reached –

The gay-rights crowd won’t be satisfied until homosexuality is compulsory, with penalties for non-participants.

Right… because a person who is motivated enough and intelligent enough to make it to Admiral just can’t control his gay animal urge to flounce when a parade starts and I really want to force unwilling guys to have sex with me. ( Nice to know where I rate on the respect-meter – Animalistic-rapist. That was unfair to Smitty and McCain. I know that they didn’t intend anything personal too me but that post really pushed a couple buttons -jenn) Some of the commenters were rabid enough that if we were out floating around on one of those shitty LSTs the Navy used to move us around on and they said something similar I would be tempted to push them over the side out of preemptive self-defense.

I don’t really know what else to say – I am really really upset by this post.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Portlandic permalink
    February 13, 2010 12:13 am

    No O-8 or better would ever flounce, not even an Air Force flag officer.

  2. February 13, 2010 10:08 am

    You know, after reading that post myself, I don’t think your initial reaction was unfair. That is one of the most insulting anti-gay posts I’ve ever seen. They may not have intended anything personal to you specifically, or to me specifically, but it sure as heck was a personal insult to all gays, and one of the most vile, disgusting insults I can think of.

    It make me too mad to think clearly. I’ll stop now before I say something I might regret later.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      February 13, 2010 10:59 am

      Thanks. I want to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume they were just trying to make a point, but at the same time the post was so over the top it just made me boil. Some of my friends read it after I made this post and all but one were very offended. Audrianna just called it ignorant and said I should be used to it. Mr. X on the other hand is on the warpath.

  3. Liz permalink
    February 14, 2010 10:50 am

    Honestly, I read the post and decided that it was so unbelieveably stupid and over the top that they had to be taking the piss. It was the only way I could avoid reaching through the computers and ripping their prostates out. C’mon, no one seriously believes any of that. Right? Right?

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      February 14, 2010 11:45 am

      I can only hope.

  4. February 15, 2010 9:17 pm

    I’ve wanted to comment on this post, but I had to think about it for awhile. That didn’t help, so I’m just typing away.

    Stacy and Smitty are both good guys. I completely understand being offended by the post, but often the extreme is the best way to make a point … and sometimes you just miss completely with that type of analogy. But I’m not here to defend them.

    Gay issues are a difficult subject. Nobody’s fair. Not on either side. (for the most part). I draw the line on either side of the issue when it comes to positive rights or State dictate. On marriage for example, I don’t think the State should have anything to do with it. Period. Take out the State, and we can all live peacefully as we choose. Make it a political issue, and everybody goes to war.

    As far as the military … I can’t really see how anyone can say gays aren’t allowed. That’s kinda stupid if you ask me. But I can imagine it could come with some problems …

    Let’s not kid ourselves. Young kids are horny. I lived in a coed dorm in college for a couple of semesters. There was so much estrogen in the air, I was like a mad dog in heat! Like a crack-head in a crack house. So I can see why they wouldn’t want me bunking with the girls, if I was in the military. They shouldn’t have let me do it in college for that matter.

    Couldn’t the same problem arise with a few gay guys bunking together?

    Again, in no way would I ever support not allowing gay people to serve in the military. I’m just asking an honest question. Maybe I’m wrong. I barely know how to tie my own shoes. I’m just asking, that’s all.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      February 16, 2010 6:01 am

      All I can say is that there is a difference in consensual sex, presumably in private, and what was implied in the post at The Other McCain. If they try and segregate gays into separate berthing and that area turns into orgy central (not that I think it will) that’s because the military will have made it clear that’s the expectation.

Leave a Reply

