Skip to content

People are hopping mad

January 22, 2010

About yesterday’s Supreme Court decision that allows corporations (and by extension unions) donate engage directly in the political process. The Newsweek blog has 3 stories all critical. Howard Fineman’s is typical –

The most vivid image I saw was the red-faced Chief Justice John Roberts, veins popping on his neck as he vibrated with disgust at the idea that government could limit what a corporate entity could do or say in the political arena.

The 5-4 opinion issued Thursday by the Roberts Court — written by swing-voter Anthony Kennedy — was even more sweeping than I had imagined and predicted.

Memeorandum is much the same story – Almost the entire page is dominated by the story. The NY Times story linked there is more even handed than the stories on the Newsweek blog, but it still smacks of disapproval. Personally I am not sure how I feel about this yet – my initial gut reaction is “Good, McCain Feingold is dead. Now let’s do something about those 527s” but I am afraid that this ruling will lead unions to start taking more of there members money for political purposes and that they will ignore the opt out laws. I also worry that corporations won’t be real wise with the way they use shareholder money in their campaigning. It’s easy to throw other peoples money away. Both of those concerns are side issues though so basically I guess I agree.

-elsewhere-

Scott Brown’s wife Gail Huff wearing a bikini in a 1980’s Music Video

I have no idea what the song or the video is about, I have lost my ability to contextually deconstruct 80’s music videos, but I wanted to get in on Scott Brown fever. Since The Other McCain has already staked out the Ayla Brown Bikini territory I have decided to go with Gail Huff in a Bikini

and here is Gail Huff in a swimsuit again – doing the Navy SEAL fitness challenge

how do I hat tip Red Eye on this?

Hill Buzz bloggers being harrassed by the Daily Kos. Cynthia Yockey asks for help on their behalf

Local Weatherman uses snowfall to brag about his manhood. (via)

Beck to Palin – How can you support McCain. Because as I noted yesterday she has more class than I do.

Can this week get any better? Well Osama bin Ladin could fly to the US and surrender personally to George W. Bush while implicating George Soros as his main financier and then the heavens could open and rain chocolate but short of that probably not.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bobbelvedere permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:06 am

    Jenn: I believe Red Eye’s address is redeye@foxnews.com.

    If that doesn’t work, go to The Activity Pit
    [ http://activitypit.ning.com/ ]

  2. xbradtc permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:38 am

    Re: Gail Huff in a black bikini in a music vid-

    How long before some lefty site runs a headline:

    SCOTT BROWN’S WIFE ARRESTED FOR MURDER!!

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      January 22, 2010 9:29 pm

      Oh, I am sure it’s happened already somewhere. It just hasn’t been ferretted out yet.

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

