Skip to content

Democrats in danger of losing the House?

December 15, 2009

Maybe. I would say this is good news but I think at the moment it is premature. If this result holds for a month I will start to get my hopes up.

Ace of Spades – Al Gore makin’ shit up – Gore getting slapped down by a scientist for claiming the scientist said something the scientists says he didn’t say. Gore’s response – “Well he said in a double secret private conference”

(more)

I know the problem girls

Dustbury – Mobius strip bagels. Is this what math has devolved too?

The Classic Liberal – Why he is against the war.

In summary, I’m against the 2 wars because the cost in lives is too high, the cost in dollars is too high, the politicians are lying about their ambitions, I don’t like killing people, I’m worried about the soldiers families back home, and consider nation-building to be a progressive utopian dream.

All I can say is it doesn’t always come down to cost. I would like the wars to end, and signs are that Iraq is ending, but until there are stable governments in place that can keep attacks from being launched against America from those places I support the wars.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 9:11 am

    “until there are stable governments in place that can keep attacks from being launched against America from those places I support the wars.”

    Exactly. Whatever someone may think about whether we should have started either war, it should be hard to argue that we can just quit either one without a stable, sustainable government in place.

    • Portlandic permalink
      December 15, 2009 11:23 pm

      Ah, the first corollary of the Powell Doctrine:

      “You broke it, you bought it.”

      • jenn1964 permalink*
        December 16, 2009 4:14 am

        Not exactly. If there was no possibility of either country being used to launch attacks at the US I would say fine let’s pull our troops if that is the general consensus. See the difference.

        On the other hand I think that countries that are on the verge of sliding into fundamentalism / anarchy should be targetted for a diplomatic blitz including things like infrastructure projects etc. in order to forestall the possibility of having to send troops.

Leave a Reply

