Skip to content

Bug Out Bag

December 4, 2009

I have been seeing a lot of survivalist posting lately. Bill Quick has even started a Shit Hits The Fan wiki . I am not a survivalist but I live in the NW and we are prone to earthquakes, snowstorms, and power outages so I do have a kit that I keep in my car. I looked at some of the commercially available kits and to me they suck so I came up with my own operating on the 3-3-30 principle. 3 weeks without food, 3 days without water, or 30 minutes unprotected in the cold will kill you.

Contents

Small Backpack
1 Navy watchcap
1 pair leather gloves with wool lines (surplus)
1 pair wool socks
1 set thermal underwear
1 pair sweats
1 sweat shirt
1 disposable rainsuit
6 Met-Rx Bars
3 MREs (broken down to save bulk)
Leatherman
4 Emergency blankets
2 50 gal trashbags
2 30 gal trashbags
2 1qt canteens in covers with cup
water purification tablets
first aid kit (surplus USMC individual)
100 feet paracord
surplus poncho and liner
E-tool
Matches
Handcrank flashlight

I know that seems like a lot but since I am often in a skirt and heels I had to add some items. In my car I almost always have a fleece jacket and a pair of running shoes. I keep the kit in the car. With this I am prepared to dig out of a snow storm or ride it out if I have too or make do after an earth quake. One of the things I learned way back in the 80s in the Navy was how versatile garbage bags and tarps (emergency blankets basically) are. Looking at the list I should probably add some duct tape and maybe a larger water bottle. The pack i have has the webbing straps on the outside so the first aid kit, canteens, etc can all be strapped on there. Also if you have never used the military poncho / liner system you are missing out on some very versatile gear.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Portlandic permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:49 pm

    Wearing heels? Suggest keeping a pair of broken-in boots and another pair of thick socks in your car kit, so you can let one air-dry while wearing another.

    Also, a 2-way radio (getting an amateur radio license no longer requires the Dreaded Morse Code) which can receive commercial broadcast and weather bands.

    Does that hand-cranked flashlight recharge your cellphone? Some do, a handy thing.

    And, if you are feeling community minded, maybe sign up for a CERT/SDART class. http://www.citizencorps.gov/cc/showCert.do?cert&id=11905

  2. jenn1964 permalink*
    December 5, 2009 7:58 am

    I have XM in my car which gets the weather. I’m not sure who I would transmit too. The flashlight doesn’t charge my phone but I have a charge in my car. I don’t have a handcrank radio in this kit but I do have one in my apartment.

Trackbacks

  1. Bug Out Bag | Consumer Electronics

Leave a Reply

