Skip to content

One of the stupider things I have heard lately

November 13, 2009

Gretchen Carlson to Major Garrett on “Fox and Friends” this morning – “Since when does the Ambassador of a country get a lot of input into how the Global War on Terror is fought?” – referring the Lt Gen (Ret) Eikenberry, the Ambassador to Afghanistan. Garrett looked stunned at the question. At least I thought so – of course I had just woken up after basically being pushed out of bed so I may have misread the facial expression.

elsewhere –

Cynthia Yockey thinks to understand Obama you have to understand narcissists and their enablers.

Dustbury examines comment trolls – fortunately I haven’t got that problem.

Help me decipher what Little Miss Attila is saying here – I thinks she is agreeing with Cassandra’s post at Villainous Company, pointing out that even Reagan wasn’t perfect, but there is just enough of a tone that I think there is something else there.

Outside the Beltway thinks Obama is searching for a way to exit Afghanistan. So do I and I think it will cost us more in the long run than staying and winning. Just look at the one day death toll for 9/11 and compare that to the toll for 8 years in Afghanistan and almost 7 in Iraq. Tell me the cost benefit analysis doesn’t swing to staying.

What’s objectionable about Objectivism
– I’ve noticed that a lot of novelists seem to be purists. I guess that is because in novels you can force a system to work. It seems to be true of bloggers too. Probably for the same reason. Things look good written down that fail when you try and put them into application. Just ask any engineer tweaking of some sort is usually required.

The Classic Liberal takes a look at SEIU. He also provides a link to Ludwig von Mises book “Human Action” in mp3 format while discussing the Great Depression. There is also a link to the Road to Serfdom in cartoons. I may have to read Road to Serfdom again – over at Aces of Spades the other day there was a discussion of it going on in a comments thread and it was pointed out that Hayek actually supported government intervention in things like health care (he supported universal health care provided by the government), so that may require a little reevaluation.

The Unreligious Right takes a look at Hot Atheist Girls

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzie permalink
    November 13, 2009 10:30 am

    I think Attila is pointing out that the GOP and conservatives need all us evil moderates, but also that Reagan – who a lot of conservatives worship – was actually fairly moderate himself. Maybe we’re not so bad?

  2. Lizzie permalink
    November 13, 2009 10:35 am

    I just think the extra tone is a bit of a snark against the “purists”. Yah, I have trouble with printed sarcasm too.

  3. November 24, 2009 7:03 pm

    Waow enjoyed reading your blogpost. I added your feed to my google reader.

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments
  2. dustbury.com » Something to believe in?
  3. Daily Pundit » Rand-om Attacks from the Ignorati

Leave a Reply

