Skip to content

The Economics of Prostitution

October 23, 2009

Apparently the authors of Freakonomics have examined the economics of prostitution in their new book. (via Instapundit)

I haven’t read the book but I have some (outdated) experience in this area and what I read at Money Honey’s sounds about right but incomplete. The authors identify location and time of day as the two major factors determining how much a girl can charge. In my experience that’s correct but there are other considerations. Exposure – San Diego had a number sex trade papers in which too advertise (Club Sun, LA Xpress, at least 3 others), Tolerance – When the cops were cracking down business dropped off. Both because clients were afraid and because we had to screen closer. Competition – Just like everything else more supply equals lower prices especially when girls would come up from Tijuana or down from LA. Independence – In the area I was in almost all the girls were independent (at least the T-girls), girls who weren’t tended to be further down El Cajon. They also tended to be a lot further along the drug dependence trail and that greatly affected things.

Anyway just thought I would throw my insights out there. My time in that life was thankfully fairly short lived and as I have mentioned before I was sliding into that group of girls that are forced to continue because of the drug dependence and their boyfriends / pimps. I don’t know whow much of what I said above remains true in the age of craigslist.

One Comment leave one →
  1. genes permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:03 pm

    Craigslist occasionally has to clear out the ads, but there are a number of “dating” sites that don’t. Such as sexsearch and adultfriendfinder and sites specifically for gays and transgendered. (I sometimes cruise the Darkside of the net. Much safer than certain areas of downtown San Diego.)

Leave a Reply

