Skip to content

Wish me luck

September 20, 2009

Second date with a guy tonight. Early dinner and “The Time Travelers Wife”. He seems like a nice guy so far, although I may not be the best judge of character at the moment. Unemployed, bored, lonely and horny may be clouding my perceptions but we will see. 😛

Update – Things went OK, he is a very nice guy and one of my afflictions is temporarily resolved. Not sure if there will be a third date though. I kind of got the feeling that his expectations had been met. Guess we’ll see. On the bright side if there isn’t at least I didn’t have to go to the movie alone. (That’s a joke) It was funny though – here we were in this romantic movie and he was sitting very still like he was afraid to touch me, I finally had to lean into him a bit before he got the hint. I shouldn’t complain though my ex hadn’t taken me to a movie in a couple years and Mr. X has a nice solid build. It felt good. One other problem – Obama voter. I think he just assumes I am too and I didn’t really feel like opening that can of worms yet, but f we do have a third date it is going to have to be addressed. Well that’s enough of that.

Speaking of Obama – Did I read the paper correctly? Did he really order the Pentagon to prepare to drastically cut our nuclear arsenal and lay the groundwork for losing “The War That Must Be Won” / “The Central Front In The War On Terror”? This really is scary. At this point I think he is out Cartering Carter, although the Telegraph is a little more forgiving –

Indeed, he deserves praise for spending so much time on thankless foreign policy issues. He is tackling all the big problems: restarting Middle East peace talks, defanging Iran and North Korea and a “reset” of relations with Russia. But none of them are working.

Regimes in Moscow, Pyongyang and Tehran simply pocket his concessions and carry on as before. The picture emerging from the White House is a disturbing one, of timidity, clumsiness and short-term calculation. Some say he is the weakest president since Jimmy Carter.

(h/t)

I disagree. I think the only reason that he hasn’t given away the Panama Canal is because Carter did 30 years ago, so Alaska should probably watch out.

Riehl World View calls him dangerous and irresponsible. I think it’s worse. I think he is dangerous and naive. I honestly think he believes that on the strength of his highly overrated oratory he can do whatever he wants with no regard for consequences. And why shouldn’t he? No on has challenged him on anything until recently and that phenomenon is still recent enough to have not sunk in.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2009 7:55 pm

    I’m one of those people who considers “second date” a favorable sign all by itself. 🙂

    • Sean the Maggot permalink
      September 20, 2009 10:25 pm

      As for me, a second date with no restraining order would be an enormous improvement.

  2. jenn1964 permalink*
    September 21, 2009 1:24 am

    Thanks for the support. Sean – restraining orders are a bad thing 🙂

  3. September 21, 2009 10:55 am

    I think there is a certain naivete common to progressyves when it comes to foreign policy. They have this funny habit, for being so inclusive and diverse and whatnot, of assuming the rest of the world’s frame of reference is middle-class white vegan loan-officer in Burbank, Ca. Also, good luck with Mr. X. I had a Ms. Y I was into recently that revealed her distaste (by which I mean fierce hatred) for the military, which is kind of at odds with my career choices.. I couldn’t make that leap, but Obama-voter’s a little easier, I think ;).

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      September 21, 2009 3:22 pm

      Maybe and maybe he will be so stricken with me he will just change 🙂

  4. September 21, 2009 5:24 pm

    If everything else works out, political leanings are, I think, more or less negotiable. (See, for instance, Carville/Matalin.)

    • Sean the Maggot permalink
      September 26, 2009 11:37 pm

      To overcome whatever Carville is, you need more than a negotiable stance on political leaning.

      Every time I see the dude on TV, my body goes into a fight or flight response.

  5. J.S.Bridges permalink
    September 24, 2009 8:57 am

    “…one of my afflictions is temporarily resolved.”

    Hem…good to know you’re not bored anymore, anyway…

    Visiting via Daily Pundit – but you’re definitely going on my Daily Blogs list. Cool site – keep it coming.

  6. jenn1964 permalink*
    September 24, 2009 10:24 am

    OK two afflictions resolved temporarily.

    Thanks for the kind words. I look forward to a number of visits.

Leave a Reply

