Skip to content

Gaming the algorithms

September 3, 2009

Robert Stacy McCain offers more advice on driving blog traffic. In short link to other blogs so they will link to you (Rule 2 of his 5 rules), and game the search engine algorithms. The example he gives is Carrie Prejean nude, apparently this is a huge driver of traffic for him. Of course at the same time he managed to piss off Joy over at Little Miss Attila by confusing silicone, the material that Carrie Prejean’s breast implants are made of, with silicon, the material that integrated circuits are made of. In his defense it is spelled correctly so spell check wouldn’t catch it.

I just don’t know if I can follow his advice. Not the linking, but the algorithm gaming. I guess I could just zero in on keywords. I mentioned a couple days ago that the number one search term bring people here is shemale. That would be incredibly easy to game. All I really need to do is find a way to drop it into every post and occasionally tell a dirty story, and believe me I have a few that would melt your eyeballs. I’m pretty sure I could have a couple thousand hits in a week or two. Then using the massive power of the internet I can make a million dollars through google ad sense.

I think for now I will let McCain post about Carey Prejean nude. (Maybe David Frum should start blogging about Carrie Prejean nude also and stop running his mouth about Sarah Palin. If he really wanted traffic I guess he could claim to have pics of Sarah Palin nude.)

In case you didn’t figure it out the above was just a good matured poke at the road to blog success. I find it amusing that Robert Stacy McCain has it down to such a science, but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. Searching job ads I see two or three everyday looking for someone proficient in search engine optimization.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 8:16 pm

    I have a rule on search-engine optimization: the moment you get it perfect, they change the algorithm.

    Google says my PageRank is 5; it’s fluctuated between 4 and 6 for the last several years. I figure it’s not worth losing sleep over.

  2. jenn1964 permalink*
    September 3, 2009 8:18 pm

    You are probably right. Since I have no idea what a google page rank is I obviously am not going into the optimization business anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

