Skip to content

Consensus – Brown is just doing what he needs to do to get reelected

February 23, 2010

Obviously he needs to signal the left-leaning indies back home who voted for him that he’ll break their way sometimes. Even armed with a huge war chest for 2012, he ain’t getting reelected as a party-line Republican.

(source)

Seriously guys, don’t complain. We knew this was going to be a case by case thing going in. We lost him on this one, we’ll have him on another. That beats the hell out of Martha Coakley who we’d have 0% of the time.

(source)

What happened to ideological purity at all costs? Just to be fair – Ace and Allahpundit have not advocated the absolute ideological purity that many have, but they are the two big sites I have found that have written about this so far. Others, who if this was any other moderate Republican, would normally be screaming for his head are mainly toeing the same line. I am against the jobs bill. I think he should have voted no. I don’t say thet from an ideological purity standpoint. I say it from the it’s a bad bill standpoint.

(more)

OK this is what I was expecting and apparently commenters on his facebook page are in revolt.

-elsewhere-

So here’s a legal question – A police officer makes a public posting threatening to execute anyone he sees openly carrying an unloaded weapon, in compliance with the law. I, as an open carry advocate (I’m not. I support the 2nd amendment but carrying around an unloaded weapon on my hip just strikes me as stupid. It also strikes me as stupid to let criminals know that I am armed) am walking down the street with a big gun on my hip when I recognize the officer from the news coverage and his incredibly stupid facebook posting. We see each other. He starts to reach inside his coat. In a blast of superhuman speed I draw, load, aim and fire killing the officer. Can I claim self-defense? After all he threatened to “prone out” and kill me (or someone like me) on his facebook page. I would sure as hell make that argument. Note: This is in no way a call for violence against police officers. I am just pointing out why I think him making that statement is a huge problem for him and his department.

Instapundit pointed out the problem in a post in April last year.

“Conservatives can kiss off “Hot Air” blog” – Bryan Fischer can kiss my ass. Bigoted piece of trash.

More on DADT – CNN poll: 69% support letting gays serve openly in military — including 62% of Republicans

White House – “OK guys we wrote a health care plan and posted it. Where’s your’s?” GOP – “We put ours online in Oct. not 2 days before the meeting, and you linked to it on your website” White House – ” (crickets chirping) “

Why are coups always led by Colonels?

(h/t)

Q and O looks at the 2010 midterms

Islamists losing ground?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 12:50 pm

    I’m gradually coming around on DADT, but my big concern is that gays will become another “protected class” and diversity goal. That’s not the average servicemember’s fault, but the result of activists and a supine leadership. But you know damn well it would happen.

    • jenn1964 permalink*
      February 23, 2010 1:34 pm

      I can understand that concern, but it is the same type of concern that was raised over integration and allowing women in the service. The answer isn’t discrimination it’s full equality and a backbone to stand up to activists when they start talking about things like gender norming.

  2. February 23, 2010 7:13 pm

    You definitely have the moral right to shoot that cop! He issued a threat.

    Bryan Fischer … Yeah, I’m growing ever more frustrated with the conservative movement by the day. They rip on genuine limited-government types like me, engage in vitriol like Fisher and Tancredo have done … I’m losing my patience.

    Sorry I missed your Rule 5 link, I’ll get that remedied.

  3. jenn1964 permalink*
    February 23, 2010 10:00 pm

    No problems. That’s the way I look at the cop issue too but I really doubt I could convince the other cops who would show up to shoot me that I was justified.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

