Skip to content

Meghan McCain – Cute, Blonde, Idiot. Speaking of idiots, why don’t I understand the kerfluffle over Obama’s school address

September 3, 2009

Found this while going through my blogroll this morning. Ms. McCain was upset that mean people like me were questioning the Kennedy legacy:

Like many Americans, I watched as Senator Ted Kennedy was laid to rest over the weekend after his year-long battle with brain cancer. The day marked not only the end of the Camelot era, but seemed to signal the final passing of many things politically. I certainly didn’t agree with Senator Kennedy’s politics on many issues, but as I listened to his friends, family, and Senate colleagues — including my father — tell stories of the man they knew, what was so evident was that Ted Kennedy always believed you could find compromise on the really important matters. [snip]

After reading some of the discourse online, I was both surprised and disgusted at what was being written. I was shocked that even in death, people were having partisan quarrels about his legacy which led me to writing a Tweet saying, “I just don’t know what kind of life of anger you lead if you can’t put politics aside for a moment to respect a man’s passing…” Immediately, this post was used yet again by some as an example of my “secret liberalism.” Because what — apparently I can only respect a politician who had served nearly five decades in the Senate if he was a Republican? I don’t know how or why we got to this place in politics. Why death is used as yet another excuse for mudslinging and party rhetoric. It is depressing to think that we have come to an age where you can only mourn a man’s service to his country if he abides by every single political tenet you believe in. Whenever people ask me if I want to run for office, my answer is always no. Among the many reasons is that I don’t want to go into an industry where there seems to be a complete inability to meet in the middle on issues. Why would anyone want to work in an us-versus-them environment?

I have so many angry, pre-morning coffee, pre-morning shower thoughts, roiling in my head at the moment that I can’t adequately respond. Fortunately Lori Ziganto of Snark and Boobs (a site which I heard of only this morning but is going in my blogroll) does it for me:

You purposely chose to ignore the fact that he harmed this country with his policies and agenda, and that he killed a woman. He left her to die in a sinking car. He left her to asphyxiate. Alone and in the dark and terrified.

Even leaving aside the multitude of sexual harassment claims which you, as a self-avowed feminist should deplore, he KILLED SOMEONE. And never repented. Never felt one ounce of remorse. But no, that matters not to you. Like your buddies on the Left, you place a higher value on childish and naive thoughts of “all getting along” and “compromise” for the “greater good” above all; even above life.

Then, in keeping with your track record, you purposely chose to slap not just every conservative, but every intellectually honest and ethical person in this country, in the face, by publishing those thoughts (I use that term loosely) so that you could appear “cool” and “above it all” and “oh so fair.”

The only thing I could add would be that if Ms. McCain wants to complain about the us vs. them mentality she might want to take a look at one of the prime instigators, the man she just lionized. Yes, Kennedy could work across the aisle, but it was always on his terms. That ability in some men may be great but in others it is just cynical, and I believe that in Kennedy it was cynical. To him everyone and everything was a throw away to be used to advance his image and legacy, but we are rid of him now and I say good riddance.

While I am online – What’s going on with the President’s speech to school kids? I’m not sure what everyone is up in arms about. I saw Michelle Malkin talking about it on Fox News and she was incoherent. The Other McCain is apparently against it. Has anyone read an advance copy or is this just another one of those incidents that is going to blow up in our faces and make all conservatives look stupid because some have no ability to discern between harmful and harmless. Taking over 17% of the economy – bad, Telling kids to do well in school – good or at most harmless. I have heard some talk about lesson plans that amount to indoctrination, but I haven’t seen them. They would fall under the bad category but like I said I haven’t seen them. Little Miss Attila provides a link, but the excerpts there seem harmless enough:

Short readings. Notable quotes excerpted (and posted in large print on board) from President Obama’s speeches about education. Teacher might ask students to think alone, compare ideas with a partner, and share their collaborations with the class (Think/Pair/Share) about the following: What are our interpretations of these excerpts? Based on these excerpts, what can we infer the President believes is important to be successful educationally?

and

Students could discuss their responses to the following questions:

What do you think the President wants us to do?
Does the speech make you want to do anything?
Are we able to do what President Obama is asking of us?
What would you like to tell the President?

Neither of those seems particularly harmful to me. In fact they seem so amateurish I have to believe that they were written by teachers (who along with lawyers and MBAs are a bane to society) and not some well oiled political indoctrination machine.

Michelle Malkin provides another link. While some of the activities are a little Baracky-centric for my taste none of them appear particularly harmful (and I was right they were dreamed up by teachers. Edu-speak is so obvious). Malkin does have a point in that Obama’s record as an education reformer is horrible, but we are talking apples and oranges here.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. mcauleysworld permalink
    September 3, 2009 8:58 am

    As to Ted Kennedy – he was not a part of the White House Camelot Team, read the history. Ted won election to John’s seat in the Senate, however, Ted was not a member of the moderate wing of the Democratic Party,the wing lead by JFK, in fact Ted nearly tore the Democartic party in half in his fight for the nomination against Bill Clinton – that long standing personal conflict, between Ted and Bill, led to Kennedy’s support of Obama over Hilliary and the current ascendany of the far left liberal wing of the Party. As to Obama’s direct address to America’s school children — see http://mcauleysworld.wordpress.com/2009/09/03/obamas-scheduled-address-to-americas-school-children-a-blatant-attempt-to-indoctrinate/

  2. jenn1964 permalink*
    September 3, 2009 9:08 am

    regarding Ted Kennedy – You are lecturing the wrong person. I didn’t claim that he was part of “Camelot” Meghan McCain did.

    Regarding Obama’s speech. Get a grip. Talk about a hysterical overreaction. I am invoking Godwin’s law.

  3. Sunnstarr permalink
    September 3, 2009 1:11 pm

    This is classic misdirection! There is something else that is happening on September 8, 2009.

    Something of Interest, posted elsewhere on the Net:

    “Discovery hearing re. Obama’s Kenyan BC, request for depositions of Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Secretary of Defense Robert Gates scheduled for September 8th, 8am.

    08/21/2009 44 MINUTES OF IN CHAMBERS ORDER by Judge David O. Carter: ORDER SETTING SEPTEMBER 8, 2009 HEARING ONMOTIONS: (See document for
    details.) In summary, the Court sets for hearing at 8:00 a.m. on September 8, 2009, (1) the Discovery Motion, (2) the Service Notice, and (3) the Ex Parte Application. All parties are ordered to be present. The Clerk shall serve this minute order on all parties to the action. (rla) (Entered: 08/21/2009)

    CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA CM/ECF Filer or PACER Login

    Notice:
    This is a Restricted Web Site for Official Court Business only. Unauthorized entry is prohibited and subject to prosecution under Title 18 of the U.S. Code. All activities and access attempts are logged

    This entry was posted on Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 at 6:05 am and is filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed”

  4. Portlandic permalink
    September 4, 2009 9:21 am

    Why are some folks perturbed by the ‘write a letter’ speech? Well, I have a relative chairing a rural school board, and served on an inner-city charter school board myself, after teaching for several years.

    It’s partly Obama’s liberal rep, but then there’s the issue of usurpation of authority. Schools should determine what, and when, they want to teach, and not teach from a national agenda. Having an agenda handed down from On High, whether by a Demopublican or a Republicrat, dilutes the ability of the local school leader to teach.

    Lastly, I’ve read rants which tie to the fear of what a kid writes getting databased, as evidence to limit their future later on. Unlikely in the last century, but now that we live in Google World, technically possible. Since neither Demopublicans nor Republicrats seem to have any compunction to create a right to privacy, and the application of litmus tests left and right, I sure can see the source of their fear.

  5. jenn1964 permalink*
    September 4, 2009 5:08 pm

    I somewhat understand the concerns about the assignments, although it is my understanding that the letters were not to be sent anywhere but held by the teachers. The part I don’t understand is the upset over the speech especially since schools don’t have to air it.

    • Portlandic permalink
      September 6, 2009 12:22 am

      > I somewhat understand the concerns about the assignments, although it is my understanding that the letters were not to be sent anywhere but held by the teachers. The part I don’t understand is the upset over the speech especially since schools don’t have to air it.

      That, mon cher, would require the naysayers to actually *read* the plan and *think* about it. Most of the folks objecting IMHO are in knee-jerk-reaction to headlines, talk radio and rumormongering; I know that’s what I see when my Agro-American kin send me screeds which need to be debugged and need to be adjusted to somewhat more resemble the facts.

      I don’t want to have conservatism descent to the level of Know-Nothingism, and wish we could have another Bill Buckley to champion the cause.

      • jenn1964 permalink*
        September 6, 2009 9:09 am

        Thank you,

        That’s been my point. I conceded up front that I could see the concerns over the lessons, although I still consider them mostly benign – designed by committee and it shows – but until we have a better idea on the actual speech content I can’t bring myself to get upset. With a nationwide dropout rate of 30% we need to be encouraging kids to stay in school. I speak as a dropout.

  6. September 5, 2009 4:51 am

    Hypothetically, were a convicted, registered sex offender to address a group of the young, would there be anxiety?

    Why?

    General distrust of the speaker.

    And general distrust of the speaker is the chief reason the Commander in Chief’s speech is viewed so skeptically. This juxtaposed with the “Spaceman” Jones fandango is all you need to know. Trusting the speaker, and the school admins who’ve produced a couple of generations of lunkheads, would be an ungood thing.

  7. jenn1964 permalink*
    September 5, 2009 7:59 am

    The two situations are not remotely comparable but I don’t even know where to begin in discussing why.

    I guess the first point would be that one is a violent felon, as any actual sex crime really involves an act of violence on another person, and the other is a person who despite my, and I would guess your, opposition won an election and is now president.

    Second – despite political differences there are areas of concern that should be shared by all political persuasions. Children doing well in school is one of those areas. The populations with the highest drop out rates are black and latino. Obama happens to be very popular in those populations so his address to school children could be beneficial and therefore should cross party lines.

    That isn’t to say his speech shouldn’t be reviewed and if it is political attacked, but the idea that the president shouldn’t address children and encourage them to do well is just stupid.

  8. jenn1964 permalink*
    September 5, 2009 8:01 am

    And I am now invoking Jennifer’s corollary to Godwin’s law.

    “If you have to compare someone to a sex offender to make a tenuous point you automatically lose the argument”

  9. Adjoran permalink
    September 5, 2009 9:24 pm

    Students could discuss their responses to the following questions:

    What do you think the President wants us to do?
    Does the speech make you want to do anything?
    Are we able to do what President Obama is asking of us?
    What would you like to tell the President?

    Sorry, but I cannot view this as benign. It echoes too much of the “Cult of Personality” around some of the most egregiously ruthless, totalitarian despots of the 20th Century, and that which persists to this day in the “Peoples Republic of Korea,” Venezuela, Cuba, Libya, and Syria, among others.

    Since his Inaugural Address, virtually every speech Obama has read off his Teleprompter has been stridently partisan in nature. There is no reason to assume his object with this speech is any different. Naturally, he won’t challenge the kiddies to turn their bad-thinking parents and siblings in to “Flag.gov” . . . just yet, anyway.

    I confess an inability and/or unwillingness to trust someone who has proven repeatedly unlikely to keep his word. So, sue me! :-p

    • Sean the Maggot permalink
      September 9, 2009 9:19 pm

      There’s another question that will pop up in the students’ minds when asked the questions you posted.

      “Why’s the President nagging me? Isn’t that my parent’s job?”

      • jenn1964 permalink*
        September 10, 2009 8:00 am

        Or they will just sleep for the 30 minutes he is talking, that’s what I would have done.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

